Music Monday

For those that don’t know me, I love music. I wouldn’t say I’ve invested my time into music, but if somebody said that, I wouldn’t argue with them. I don’t make music–I listen to it. A lot. Everywhere I go you can see me with a pair of Apple headphones in my ears. What I’m listening to day to day changes. That’s why every Monday I’ll review music. Three albums or songs that I’ve been listening to that previous week will be reviewed; essentially it’ll be me giving my opinion and whether or not it’s actually worth a listen, regardless of how much I like it.

For the first Music Monday, I’ll be reviewing three albums that I’ve been listening to on repeat for the past week.

Lianne La Havas – Blood

I became an instant fan of Lianne when I listened to her performance on an NPR Tiny Desk Concert. If you haven’t, I recommend you listen to that–you’ll become a fan, too. In simple terms, her music is soothing. It’s very easy to sit back and just listen to this album without thinking too much about it; the flow is smooth and just enjoyable to listen to. My favorite track on the album is Tokyo, but Green & Gold is an extremely close second. To be honest, it went back and forth from day to day. The one downfall to this album is the song Never Get Enough. I just thought it didn’t fit the mood to the rest of the album with it’s very upbeat and loud chorus. But I would highly recommend this album to any kind of listener.

Injury Reserve – Floss

This is one of my favorite albums. Ever. Injury Reserve really came through with this album from top to bottom. Oh Shit!!! is an amazing opening track that really got me interested. All This Money keeps the upbeat, club-banger feeling to the album. As the album progresses, the mood shifts from upbeat to more of a reflective and quiet kind. Everything about this album is good to me. Honestly, everything about it is great. One of the most complete albums I’ve heard, and in my opinion, one of the best album released in 2016. I would definitely recommend to a listener that enjoys club type music, or rap music in general.

Madvillain – Madvillainy

The collaboration between MC’s and producers MF DOOM and Madlib turned out better than I expected from listening to the rest of DOOM’s discography. Not to take anything from his fantastic music, but this is steps above anything else he wrote. The beats, samples, and lyrics flow so well and it sounds unique, but a good unique. My favorite tracks are Accordian, Figaro, Fancy Clown, and All Caps. All Caps is by far my favorite track due to the nice beat and flow, but there isn’t really a downside to the lyrical content anywhere on this album. One thing that I would want to see is longer songs. Pretty much every song is one minute to two and half minutes, but it’s so good you just want more. I love this album, but I’d really only recommend it to those that enjoy rap from the late 90’s or early 2000’s.

Leave a Reply

